To compliment the memorial garden and stone at the entrance to the old Agecroft Colliery on Agecroft Road (see here), and the Clifton Hall Colliery memorial on Lumbs Lane (see here), the Friends of Agecroft Colliery have commissioned a further memorial to be placed in front of Salford Civic Centre in Swinton, which will be unveiled next Saturday, 28th May.
The monument consists of a wooden bench complete with a beautifully sculpted miner, a stone and a plaque, and will be unveiled by former Agecroft workers and Salford's ceremonial mayor...
"This memorial is a tribute to all who worked in those mines and also a lasting and worthy reminder of the rich heritage and history of coal mining in Swinton and surrounding areas" says Alex Channon of Friends of Agecroft Colliery
"Coal mining on a large scale existed in Swinton and surrounding areas for almost 250 years, from the opening of the Wet Earth Colliery in 1748 until the closure of Agecroft Colliery in 1990" he adds "During that period many other collieries came and went. Thousands of men, women, boys and girls toiled in those mines, many suffered serious injury and many paid the ultimate price including the 178 men and boys who perished in the Clifton Hall Colliery disaster of 1885."
The ceremony begins at 12:30pm, with the accompaniment of a brass band, and over two hundred people, including many ex-miners, are expected to attend.
The unveiling is open to everyone...
Unveiling of Miners Memorial Bench, Statue and Stone
Saturday 28th May 12:30pm
Salford Civic Centre